Hagbourne CofE Primary School

'Be the best you can be'


At Hagbourne CE Primary School we are very lucky to have an active and enthusiastic team of governors. Like most governing boards, the team is made up of Parent Governors (elected by parents of the school), Staff Governors (both teaching and non-teaching staff), Local Authority Governors (appointed by the Local Authority, LA), Foundation Governors (appointed by the Diocese or local church), and Co-opted Governors (appointed by the Governing Body).


Our Governing Body can be contacted by email at


Below is a list of all the current school governors:


Governor NameGovernor TypeAppointing Body
Mrs Jemma Dyson (Chair)Co-optedCo-opted
Dr Mark Barnett (Vice Chair)Parent Parent 
Rvd. Jason St. John Nicolle Ex-Officio FoundationDiocese
Mrs Nicky DobsonHeadteacher 
Mrs Sarah-Jane LewisCo-optedCo-opted
Mrs Joanna PasseyCo-optedCo-opted
Miss Holly MundyStaffStaff
Mr Christopher PowellLocal AuthorityLA
Mr Gary McIntyreCo-optedCo-opted
Mr Sean DingleyCo-optedCo-opted
Dr Ludovic LetournerParentParent
Mrs Erin BuxtonFoundationDiocese
Mrs Marie MurphyClerk 


All our governors have a four year term of office.  Each governor can be re-elected or re-appointed at the end of their term (by the Governing Board, Diocese or Local Authority), except parent and staff governors who must be elected by the parent and staff of the school respectively.
Full Governing Board information is below:


Setting the School’s values, vision and strategic aims, agreeing plans and policies and making creative use of our resources.  The role of the governors is to provide the best possible education for their pupils by:


  • Monitoring and evaluating performance and acting as a ‘critical friend’ to the headteacher to support and challenge them in managing the school.
  • Ensuring that the school is accountable to the children and parents we serve as well as to the staff we employ, the local community and Oxfordshire County Council’s local authority who fund us.


The Governing Board is responsible and accountable in law and in practice for major decisions about the school and its future. They are equal partners in leadership with the Headteacher and Senior Leadership Team.


The Headteacher is responsible for:


  • The internal organisation, management and control of the school.
  • Formulating aims and objectives, policies and targets for the Governing Board to consider adopting.
  • Advising on and implementing the governing body’s strategic framework.
  • Giving Governors the information they need to help the school raise its standards.
  • Reporting on progress.


The Governors are responsible for:


  • Standards (promoting high standards of educational achievement)
  • Targets
  • Curriculum
  • Reporting results
  • Policies
  • Finance (approving and monitoring school budget)
  • Staffing (deciding staff numbers and staff pay)
  • Appointments (appointing the Headteacher)
  • Discipline (staff conduct, discipline and grievances)
  • Inspection
  • Special Educational Needs
  • Safeguarding


Our Governors are all volunteers and are willing to use their individual skills to collectively support the work of the school. Each member of the Governing Board attends Full Governing Board meetings and are responsible for monitoring their particular area and feeding back to the main body.